Research Development Council

Chair

  • Eric Chapman, Associate Vice President for Research Development
    2114 Lee Building  |  Phone: 301-405-7136  |  Email: echapman@umd.edu
    Assistant:  Veronica McDougal-Cotton | Phone: 301-405-3712  |  Email: mcdougal@umd.edu

Co-Chair

  • Dr. Erin Fitzgerald, Director of National Research Initiatives
    2114D Lee Building  |  Phone: 301-405-4462  |  Email: erinf@umd.edu

Members

Agriculture and Natural Resources, College of

  • Adel Shirmohammadi, Professor and Associate Dean for Research
    1419 Animal Sciences/Agric.  |  Phone: 301-405-2459  |  Email: ashirmo@umd.edu
    Assistant: Richa Mathur  |  Phone: 301-405-1214  |  Email: rmathur4@umd.edu

Architecture, Planning & Preservation, School of

  • Gerrit Knaap, Professor & Director
    National Center for Smart Growth (START)
    1112M Preinkert Hall  |  Phone: 301-405-6083  |  Email: gknaap@umd.edu

Arts & Humanities, College of

  • Linda Aldoory, Associate Dean of Research
    1102A Francis Scott Key Building  |  Phone: 301-405-7364  |  Email: laldoory@umd.edu
    Assistant: Ashley Richerson  |  Phone: 301-405-2095  |  Email:  arichers@umd.edu

Behavioral and Social Sciences, College of

  • Jeff Lucas, Professor and Associate Dean
    4137 Art/Sociology Building  |  Phone: 301-405-6435  |  Email: jlucas2@umd.edu

Business, Robert H. Smith School of

  • Ritu Agarwal, Professor; Associate Dean for Research
    2416F Van Munching Hall  |  Phone: 301-405-3121  |  Email: ragarwal@rhsmith.umd.edu
    Assistant: Maura Arnold | Phone: 301-405-1545 | Email: mschille@umd.edu

Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences, College of

  • Wolfgang Losert, Associate Dean for Research
    1147 Physical Sciences Complex  |  Phone:  301-405-0629  |  Email: wlosert@umd.edu
    Assistant: Lisa Holder  |  Phone: 301-405-4906  |  Email:  lholder@umd.edu

Education, College of

  • Laura Stapleton, Professor & Associate Dean for Research and Innovation and Partnerships       
    3119 Benjamin Building  |  Phone: 301-405-2337  |  Email: lstaplet@umd.edu
    Assistant:  Andrea Norris  |  Phone: 301-405-2336  |  Email: anorris@umd.edu

Engineering, A. James Clark School of

  • Rob Briber, Associate Dean for Research 2141 Chemical and Nuclear Engineering Building  |  Phone: 301-405-7313  |  Email: rbriber@umd.edu
    Assistant: Julie Berry  |  Phone: 301-405-7765  |  Email: jeberry@umd.edu

Graduate School

  • Steve Fetter, Dean
    2125 Lee Building  |  Phone: 301-405-5793  |  Email: sfetter@umd.edu 
    Assistant: Amanda Strausser | Phone: 301-405-6732 | Email: astraus3@umd.edu

Information Studies, College of

  • Susan Winter, Lecturer and Associate Dean for Research
    4105B Hornbake Library, South Wing  |  Phone: 301-405-4989  |  Email: sjwinter@umd.edu

Journalism, College of

  • Sarah Ann Oates, Professor
    2100L John S. and James L. Knight Hall | Phone: 301-405-4510 | Email: soates@umd.edu

Public Health, School of

  • Dushanka Kleinman, Professor & Associate Dean for Research
    3310 School of Public Health Building  |  Phone: 301-405-2438  |  Email: dkleinma@umd.edu
    Assistant:  Caitlin Waite  |  Phone:301-405-2437  |  Email: cwaite@umd.edu

Public Policy, School of

  • Philip Joyce, Senior Associate Dean and Professor
    2101 Van Munching Hall  |  Phone: 301-405-6330  |  Email: pgjoyce@umd.edu
    Assistant:  Katharine Zang  |  Phone:301-405-0467  |  Email: kzang@umd.edu

Foundation and Corporate Relations 

  • Kristen Gladsky, Senior Director, Foundation Relations
    4111 Riggs Alumni Center  | Phone: 301-405-1883 | Emailkgladsky@umd.edu

  • Tracy Lee, Director, Corporate Relations
    4113 Riggs Alumni Center  | Phone: 301-405-4928 | Emailtracylee@umd.edu
    Assistant: Sandra Waldrop  |  Phone: 301-405-4092  |  swaldrop@umd.edu

Office of the President

  • Virginia Meehan, Director of Federal Relations
    1131 Main Administration Building  |  Phone: 301-405-2065  |  Email: vmeehan@umd.edu
    Assistant: Amina DeHarde | Phone: 301-405-8359 | Email: adeharde@umd.edu

Office of the Senior VP & Provost

  • Mariah Bauer, Director
    0107 Main Admin  |  Phone: 301-405-6817  |  Email: mbauer@umd.edu

Office of Technology Commercialization

  • Julie Lenzer, Associate VP of Innovation & Co-Director of UM Ventures
    2130 Mitchell Building  |  Phone: 301-405-2960  |  Email: jlenzer@umd.edu
    Assistant:  Bijan DaBell  |  Phone:301-405-0716  |  Email: bdabell@umd.edu

  • Felizia Metz, Senior Intellectual Property Manager
    2130 Mitchell Building  |  Phone: 301-405-2797  |  Email: fametz@umd.edu

Office of the Vice President for Research

  • Hana Kabashi, Program Manager
    2114 Lee Building  | Phone: 301-405-4178| Email: hkabashi@umd.edu

  • Beth Brittan-Powell, Director of Joint Research Collaborations
    1204D Marie Mount Hall  | Phone: 301-405-1459 | Email: ebrittan@umd.edu

  • John Sawyer, Director of Strategic Corporate Partnerships
    2203 Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building  | Phone: 301-314-8132 | Email: jsawyer2@umd.edu

University of Maryland, Baltimore

Dentistry, School of

  • Pei Feng, Associate Dean for Research / Director of Research Office
    Phone: 410-706-7340  |  Email: pfeng@umaryland.edu

Law, School of

  • Michael Pappas, Associate Dean for Research / Associate Professor of Law
    Phone: 410-706-7456  |  Email: mpappas@law.umaryland.edu

Medicine, School of

Nursing, School of

Pharmacy, School of

Social Work, School of

Connect

social iconstwitterlinkedinrssYouTube
Division of Research
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-1541

Email: vpr@umd.edu
© Copyright 2017 University of Maryland

Did You Know

UMD was ranked 8th in the nation by employers seeking to hire new graduates, according to a recent survey by the Wall Street Journal.