Research Development Council

Chair

  • Eric Chapman, Assistant Vice President for Research Development
    2114 Lee Building, Campus Zip 5121  |  Phone: 301-405-7136  |  Email: echapman@umd.edu
    Assistant:  Danica Lovelace | Phone: 301-405-4175  |  Email: lovelace@umd.edu

Co-Chair

  • Dr. Erin Fitzgerald, Director of National Research Initiatives
    2114D Lee Building, Campus Zip 5121  |  Phone: 301-405-4462  |  Email: erinf@umd.edu

Members

Agriculture and Natural Resources

  • Adel Shirmohammadi, Professor and Associate Dean for Research
    1419 Animal Sciences/Agric., Campus Zip 3131  |  Phone: 301-405-2459  |  Email: ashirmo@umd.edu
    Assistant: Teresa Simmons  |  Phone: 301-405-2462  |  Email: tsimmons@umd.edu

A. James Clark School of Engineering

  • Rob Briber, Associate Dean for Research
    2141 Chemical and Nuclear Engineering Building  |  Phone: 301-405-7313  |  Email: rbriber@umd.edu
    Assistant: Julie Berry  |  Phone: 301-405-7765  |  Email: jeberry@umd.edu

Arts & Humanities

  • Sheri Parks, Associate Professor
    1116 Holzapfel Hall, Campus Zip 7311  |  Phone: 301-405-6255  |  Email: slp@umd.edu
    Assistant: Ashley Richerson  |  Phone: 301-405-2095  |  Email:  arichers@umd.edu

Behavioral and Social Sciences

  • Jeff Lucas, Professor and Associate Dean
    4137 Art/Sociology Building, Campus Zip 7255  |  Phone: 301-405-6435  |  Email: jlucas2@umd.edu

Computer, Mathematical and Natural Sciences

  • Wolfgang Losert, Associate Dean for Research
    1147 Physical Sciences Complex, Campus Zip 4111  |  Phone:  301-405-0629  |  Email: wlosert@umd.edu

College of Education

  • Margaret J. McLaughlin, Professor & Associate Dean       
    3119 Benjamin Building, Campus Zip 1121  |  Phone: 301-405-2337  |  Email: mjm@umd.edu
    Assistant:  Jude Mosely  |  Phone: 301-405-2336  |  Email: jmosley@umd.edu

College of Information Studies

  • Susan Winter, Lecturer and Associate Dean for Research
    4120 Hornbake Library, South Wing, Campus Zip 4345  |  Phone: 301-314-9145  |  Email: sjwinter@umd.edu

College of Journalism

  • Sarah Ann Oates, Professor
    2100L John S. and James L. Knight Hall, Campus Zip 7111 | Phone: 301-405-4510 | Email: soates@umd.edu

Foundation and Corporate Relations 

  • Tracy Lee, Director, Corporate Relations
    4113 Riggs Alumni Center, Campus Zip 5041 | Phone: 301-405-4928 | Emailtracylee@umd.edu

  • Assistant: Sandra Waldrop  |  Phone: 301-405-4092  |  swaldrop@umd.edu

Graduate School

  • Jeffrey Franke, Interim Dean
    2123 Lee Building, Campus Zip 5121  |  Phone: 301-405-4205  |  Email: jfranke@umd.edu
    Assistant: Kathleen Worthington | Phone: 301-405-0358 | Email: kworthin@umd.edu

Office of the President

  • Virginia Meehan, Director of Federal Relations
    1131 Main Administration Building, Campus Zip 5025  |  Phone: 301-405-2065  |  Email: vmeehan@umd.edu

Robert H. Smith School of Business

  • Ritu Agarwal, Professor; Associate Dean for Research
    4327 Van Munching Hall, Campus Zip 1815  |  Phone: 301-405-3121  |  Email: ragarwal@rhsmith.umd.edu

School of Architecture, Planning & Preservation

  • Gerrit Knaap, Professor & Director
    National Center for Smart Growth (START)
    1112M Preinkert Hall, Campus Zip 8225  |  Phone: 301-405-6083  |  Email: gknaap@umd.edu

School of Public Health

  • Dushanka Kleinman, Professor & Associate Dean for Research
    3310 School of Public Health Building, Campus Zip 2611  |  Phone: 301-405-2438  |  Email: dkleinma@umd.edu
    Assistant:  Elena E. Franzoi  |  Phone:301-405-1362  |  Email: efranzoi@umd.edu

School of Public Policy

  • Philip Joyce, Senior Associate Dean and Professor
    2101 Van Munching Hall, Campus Zip 1821  |  Phone: 301-405-6330  |  Email: pgjoyce@umd.edu

Office of the Vice President for Research

  • Elise Carbonaro, Director of Communications
    2114 Lee Building, Campus Zip 5121 | Phone: 301-405-6501 | Email: ecarbo@umd.edu

  • Denise Clark, Chief of Staff & Associate Vice President for Administration
    2133 Lee Building, Campus Zip 5121  |  Phone: 301-405-4282  |  Email: djclark@umd.edu
    Assistant: Danica Lovelace  |  Phone: 301-405-4175  |  Email: lovelace@umd.edu
  • Don Woodbury, Director of Innovative Partnerships
    2203 Jeong H. Kim Engineering Building, Campus Zip 5121 | Phone: 301-405-9760 | Emailwoodbury@umd.edu

Connect

social iconstwitterlinkedinrssYouTube
Division of Research
University of Maryland
College Park, MD 20742-1541

Email: vpr@umd.edu
© Copyright 2017 University of Maryland

Did You Know

UMD records approximately $560M in research expenditures per year